MBIS is governed by a Board of Directors and a Board of Trustees. There are 13 members on the Board of Trustees, and 6 members  on the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors meet monthly and directly govern the school; however, major decisions, such as approval of the annual budget, taking out a new loan, or making changes to the Acts of Endowment, need approval from the Board of Trustees. The Head of School, as mandated by Japanese Law, is a member of the Board of Trustees and Board of Directors. The Board of Trustees meets four times a year. Two independent auditors provide oversight for the Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees.


Board of directors

Andy Leathwood

Interim Head of School

Jun Yamaguchi

Chairperson, Board of Directors

Lauralee Garson Okamoto

Kina Jackson

Kimie Hirano

Patrick Judge

Board of trustees

Cyd Spanring Forster

Amanda Iwata

Mandip Chadha

Sandy Healy

Palak Chudgar

Jason Duck

Michael Parrish

Edward Sumoto

Fazil Toorabally

Sachin Bennur


Katsutoshi Yokota

Yuuka Shibayama